National Honor Society inducts 15 new members

This group of sophomores and juniors are the 2013 National Honor Society inductees. Photo courtesy of Linda Martinson

By Catherine Lemel

The Brevard High School chapter of the National Honors Society recently inducted new members. The National Honors Society was founded in 1921 and has grown to have an estimated one million student members today. The NHS was founded not only to serve as a honor roll but to also honor students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character.

NHS officers watch as adviser Charisma Arbogast speaks to parents and inductees. Photo courtesy of Linda Martinson

Charisma Arbogast, Spanish teacher at Brevard High and teacher sponsor of the NHS, said that the induction ceremony was a huge success. She said that there were fifteen new members. The inductees were sophomores Kathleen Elliott, Maggie Dodson, Faith Harron, Catherine Lemel, Brighton McConnell, Lizzie Brewer, Anna Moser, Aina Stratton, Meredith Tooley, and juniors Aly Pagano, Emily Shea, Lauren Murray, Caitlyn Murray, and junior Rebekah Pedersen.

Arbogast said, “It is an honor to be chosen for NHS because each candidate is chosen according to their individual merits.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar