Andrew Healy

Image courtesy of The Transylvania Times

Image courtesy of The Transylvania Times

by Emma Dauster

Adventuring is a part of Andrew Healy’s everyday life. Canyoning in Switzerland and vacationing in the Dominican Republic are just a few of Healy’s adventures.

“My wife and I traveled a lot before we had kids,” Healy said. “We traveled all over Europe, to the [Dominican Republic], and the western U.S.”

Much like many students here at BHS, he enjoys watching football, running marathons, fishing, hunting, camping, and backpacking with his family.

Healy grew up in Maryville, Tennessee.  As a child, he frequently came to Brevard to visit his uncle and fell in love with the town and its beautiful wildlife.  Now a husband and a father of two girls, Cambelle (2), and Georgia (4), Healy has finally completed his dream–to raise a family and live in Brevard.

Healy graduated from the University of Tennessee with an undergraduate degree in recreation and tourism.  He then attended Boise State University, and received a degree in political science.  

“After finishing college I worked different jobs that I enjoyed, but none felt like they were the route I was meant to take,” Healy said in an interview with the Transylvania Times.

After working in an exceptional child classroom (children with learning and/or behavioral problems, physical disabilities, sensory impairments, or children who are intellectually gifted), Healy decided that was the job he was meant to have.  He graduated from Northwest Nazarene University, near Boise, Idaho, with a master’s degree in education.

“I was originally planning to be a social studies teacher, but while I was in school, I had a job assisting in an exceptional child classroom.  It completely changed my path,” Healy said.

Before arriving at BHS, Healy lived in Spartanburg, South Carolina, and worked as a math resource teacher.  After living in Spartanburg, he moved to Nampa, Idaho, and worked in a self-contained classroom.

“I really like my job,” Healy said. “I love the feeling I get when I help a kid transfer from high school to college.  I also love the challenge of working with the kids.  Each child has their own unique differences.”

 

,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar